A list of things I don’t like.

28 Sep

Sometimes people say I’m grumpy. I don’t think I am, it’s just that certain things really annoy me. In no particular order then, here are some things that get my goat:

1. People on the subway who don’t have their ticket ready, then stop in front of the barrier to look for it. HELLO? IF YOU DON’T HAVE YOUR TICKET STAND TO THE SIDE SO THE REST OF US CAN GET THROUGH. Thanks.

2. People on the subway who insist on standing by the door instead of moving in, then look annoyed when I barge into them. I reserve my sharpest elbows for these pond dwellers.

3. Taxi drivers who are off duty yet slow down to ask you through the window where you want to go in case it’s on their way home, when of course it never is. I’ve started saying ‘your house’.

4. When we’re at it, the bloody TVs in NYC taxis too.

5. People who spit in the street. Scum.

6. People who don’t clean up after their dogs. Scum.

7. People who take 15 minutes to sort their coffee out at the milk/napkins/sugar area in Starbucks (with apologies to @iansohn).

8. Emails with ‘let me know if you have any questions’ at the end. Oh right, OK. I do have questions, and I would not have asked them if you hadn’t put that. Thanks.

9. The fact that no matter what @dunkindonuts I order from, anywhere in the city, I have to repeat my ‘milk and no sugar’ instruction no less than three times. I’m considering laminating a little card.  This is the most basic of coffee orders: put milk in it, don’t put sugar in it. I shouldn’t have to repeat it over and over.

10. MySpace.*

*Edit: Ok, to clarify: I mean MySpace auto play music.  Hate it hate it hate it.

8 Responses to “A list of things I don’t like.”

  1. Ian Sohn September 28, 2009 at 7:15 pm #

    Let me add …

    Red ! on emails

    People who correct my grammar

    Discussion about weather

    Tony Romo

  2. Bari September 28, 2009 at 7:36 pm #

    Drivers who double park in front of hydrants/driveways instead of just pulling into the empty slot.

    Time Warner Cable

    Strangers that want to look at my baby

    Fidgeting

    Excuses

  3. @nickscarpino September 28, 2009 at 9:41 pm #

    The word “tweeple” or any other word that starts with “twee.”

    The ending of Men’s Warehouse Commercials: “I guarantee it.” Yuck.

    Anybody who says, “I’m tired,” when I ask them how they’re doing in the morning. Everybody is tired in the morning.

  4. Mark C. Webster September 28, 2009 at 9:59 pm #

    To add to the subway gripes, let’s add the people who get off the train, get to the top of the stairs, then stand there as they get their bearings and/or check their phone…

  5. Seanathan September 29, 2009 at 6:06 am #

    I do number #8 but I do it in the way Larry David says “If there’s anything I can do to help, you let me know.” I don’t really mean it.

  6. kaimac September 30, 2009 at 9:18 pm #

    haha, this could be a series…. 🙂

    :::checks http://www.thingsidontlike.com::::

  7. Bari October 6, 2009 at 6:33 pm #

    Had to come back to pitch in my complaint of websites that auto-play music. Enjoyed by approx 0 people.

    Also, folks not from the south that say y’all.

    When are you getting that site up and running? I HAVE MORE.

  8. kaimac October 7, 2009 at 7:05 pm #

    LOVE the auto-play thing. Have been saying it for bloody years. See also… myspace 🙂

    OK, will work on it. Think it’ll be a winner!

Leave a comment