Dear Warren Ellis… (or how I got to be blocked on Twitter!)

3 Sep

Tuesday was a landmark day for me: I got my first (known) block on Twitter, meaning that another user clicked the ‘block’ button, preventing me from interacting with them.  Feels kinda weird.  I’m @kaimac on there, in case you were wondering.

How did I come to get blocked, you ask?  Good question.   First, some background….

Some of you may know Warren Ellis, the comic book guy from England who started his career with the legendary Deadline way back when, and has since turned into somewhat of a living legend himself.  He’s written a bunch of super cool stuff, including loads for comic giant, Marvel.

Which brings us to the Disney acquisition of them this week.  They just bought them for $4 billion bucks (gasp!).  Actually a super smart deal from Disney: I have no doubt that they’ll leave well enough alone and just milk the licencing opps rather than trying to change anything creatively.  After all, if it aint broke don’t fix it.

The morning the acquisition was announced, Warren (@Warrenellis) tweeted some pretty funny stuff:

Warren's Tweest

Two of my fave tweets ever, actually, but that’s by the by.  Anyhow, the next day he tweeted this:
warren tweets 2

which I thought was pretty funny, so feeling a bit sarcastic, replied with:

kai tweets

Not the funniest thing I’ve ever said, but at least a 6/10 I thought. You know, ‘cos he’s talking about severed heads and that’s the last thing Disney would ever want him to talk about, so of course he’s not a sellout, eh?  Haha funny, ya?

To which he replied:

warren tweets 3

Funny, granted, but also a little over the top.  And then with one cruel click, he blocked me, meaning that I was no long able to follow him on Twitter.  *sniff*. So that’s how I got to be blocked, for the first time ever.  Next time I guess I’ll remember to use the emoticon 😉

Anyhow, @warrenellis: sorry about that. I’m not a loony flamer, was just trying to be funny.  Won’t happen again.  Obviously enough I guess, ‘cos you’ve blocked me. But you get the point. Actually getting blocked has given me an interesting perspective on Twitter’s block feature.  In a nutshell: it’s very broken.  But that’s for another post!

So what do you think…  should I have been blocked?  Fair enough ‘cos I was such an idiot, or an over-reaction?

Update @ 10.30 EST, 4/9:  Ha! Warren just unblocked me. @iansohn is taking the credit.

9 Responses to “Dear Warren Ellis… (or how I got to be blocked on Twitter!)”

  1. Karen September 3, 2009 at 8:33 pm #

    Ummm… no second chances? What a jerk.

    If it makes you feel better, Meghan McCain blocked me b/c I criticized the ring she wore on the Colbert Report.

  2. kaimac September 3, 2009 at 8:38 pm #

    Haha, that’s excellent. I have no idea what sort of ring Warren was wearing but he’s prob have blocked me for criticizing it too, if that makes *you* feel any better?

    🙂

  3. Brandon September 4, 2009 at 6:49 am #

    That is why Twitter is broken, it should have a 150 strikes and you are out rule. Meaning – you piss off 150 people, then you are blocked from all that voted against you – but the 150 is a sliding scale based on followers, starred tweets, volume of tweets, re-tweets, etc. – so someone with lots of those would be harder to block. Because being an asshole on Twitter is easy – having some class is not.

  4. Marc Sirkin September 4, 2009 at 6:55 am #

    I think I’ll block you too. Maybe.

  5. kaimac September 4, 2009 at 7:09 am #

    @Brandon – interesting idea, but… I do think users should have the freedom to block people if they want. My issue (which I’ll blog about later) is that the block feature itself doesn’t really work very well…

    @Marc pfft. you wouldn’t dare 🙂

  6. Marc Sirkin September 4, 2009 at 7:56 am #

    i’d dare. dare me. i dare you.

  7. Rachel Kay September 4, 2009 at 9:11 am #

    Kai,

    Interesting post – makes me wonder if I have ever been blocked (not an invitation).

    In his defense, I probably wouldn’t have taken your comment as a joke. It sounded a little serious to me – and I am pretty familiar with your sarcastic wit. Agreed that emoticons go a long way in interpreting emotion that you can’t see.

    Lesson learned I guess. 😉
    Rachel

  8. Jim Of Skallywag Yoof September 6, 2009 at 11:32 am #

    and there was me thinking the english had a highly evolved sense of the ironic

    thats a tad uptight

  9. kaimac September 6, 2009 at 11:40 am #

    @rach heh, yea. I’m sure he gets lots of nutters giving him shit…

    @jamie ya, tho to be fair he’s unblocked me now 🙂

Leave a Reply

