Gears of War – Xbox 360

12 Nov

Notable for two reasons:

1) It’s only the second real system seller on the 360. That’s pretty lame in 12 months.

2) More interestingly it has a rather ground-breaking commercial, airing at the moment. Very adult, nothing but game footage to some melancholic REM Michael Andrews*. I’ve certainly not seen anything like it before. Gaming has definitely grown up, but it’s still interesting to see such a dark and innovative commercial getting national airtime.

* Thanks Dan.

14 Responses to “Gears of War – Xbox 360”

  1. dermoth November 14, 2006 at 6:17 am #

    I’ll have to reserve judgment until I’ve played the thing (it’s not out in Europe until Friday), but it don’t look like no system seller to me – it looks like an entirely generic shoot-em-up with pretty graphics. Every review I’ve read of it* has gone ZOMG TEH GRAFIKS for ten paragraphs, before revealing that the gameplay is standard shooter fare, and the difficulty curves are shit. Also, the standard-issue grunting marine dialogue looks hateful.

    I’m sure I’ll enjoy it, but if it’s half as good as Dead Rising I’ll be very surprised. I think what I’m saying here is –

    ZELDA FTW.

    *With one exception – unfortunately the only review site I even vaguely trust – http://www.eurogamer.net/article.php?article_id=69696

  2. dermoth November 14, 2006 at 6:56 am #

    Ooops, I ranted. I don’t like the phrase “system seller”, because it implies that good games sell consoles. Try telling that one to Sega.

  3. kaimac November 14, 2006 at 7:40 pm #

    I would define system seller as a title that would cause people to buy the console, that’s not available on any other platform. GoW certainly has that buzz, imo. Xbox doesn’t count.

  4. kaimac November 17, 2006 at 12:36 am #

    I’m hearing Halo-beater then…

  5. marc sirkin November 17, 2006 at 5:34 am #

    Love the commercial – I actually SLOW down the Tivo as I blow past it.

    Not a big FPS fan, if it’s not football, it usually doesn’t hold my interest for more than 15 minutes.

  6. Colin November 17, 2006 at 1:51 pm #

    I like that commercial too…it’s very dark. Perfect for the emo teenagers out there that have thought about blowing up their respective high school.

  7. kaimac November 17, 2006 at 8:20 pm #

    marc – have you seen the Football coach game on the Xbox? looks really interesting, although it didn’t get great reviews. Football (soccer) manager games are huge in the UK. Surprised they’ve not made it over the water.

    Col – i see it as more the heroic loner thing.

  8. Colin November 20, 2006 at 10:12 am #

    Heroic loners are the ones blowing up schools…mainly because their heroic lonership is misunderstood in modern times…

  9. DanD November 20, 2006 at 4:23 pm #

    That track is the Michael Andrews cover of “Mad World” by Tears for Fears from the Donnie Darko soundtrack.

  10. kaimac November 21, 2006 at 1:19 am #

    Col – or, it could just be a video game for folks that like dark and brooding, eh ๐Ÿ™‚

    Dan – blimey, so it is. Didn’t even think to look it up, so stipe like are the vocals. Cheers ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. roach December 17, 2006 at 4:26 pm #

    Oblivion is good. Have you tried that? Gears of War is a bit too noisy for my liking. All that chainsaw whirring gets right on my nerves.

    Show me a My Litlle Pony any day.

  12. kaimac January 21, 2007 at 10:27 pm #

    Ya, Oblivion took way way way too much of my life up last year. Frightening…

    Gears of war is good, but defo a bit noisy. My Little Pony I can’t comment on.

  13. roach January 23, 2007 at 8:56 am #

    I have just been introduced to Tony Hawk: Project 8. Amazing! You need to add me & dan to your XBox Live friends [ ChivesAttack ] so we can race Text Drive Unlimited style.. you got that? [I am crap at it].

    Also concerned that you have chosen to use the word ‘crapola’ in your latest blog entry ๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. kaimac January 24, 2007 at 9:17 pm #

    Look, there’s nowt wrong with the word crapola, ok?

    And isn’t project 8 just another fucking tony hawk game? I got sick of them a while back… why is it worth a look?

    I’ll add you to my live list as soon as I get back online, prob this weekend.

Leave a Reply

