Played 27 This Week…

2 Sep

Balboa nine mid-week: didn’t play especially well (= played horrible), but made a big stride forward in that I used the driver on every long hole. Never done that before: I’ve always used it once, shanked it off like nobody’s business, then put it away. Had an old guy I don’t know giving me advice on every hole, which was kinda annoying.

Eighteen today at Carmel Mountain was my first ever 18 on a big course. First hole was 553 yards long, which was a bit of a shock to the system (the courses I usually play are 3000 or so total, nevermind the first hole). Was quite pleased with myself, especially over the first six. Sunk a couple of decent putts, hit a couple of decent drives, but got tired kinda quickly and was flagging pretty badly by 12. Perfectly happy with my first round on a big course, especially my driving. Had a young guy I don’t know giving me advice this time. I guess it’s my curse.

4 Responses to “Played 27 This Week…”

  1. Kieran September 2, 2006 at 2:44 pm #

    Had 91 on a par 71 yesterday (course length about 6100 yds) yesterday – but had eight 3 putts. Nearly drove myself mad. Striking the ball beautifully. Driving long and straight, hitting my short to mid-irons consistently and hitting a lot of greens in regulation. But then can’t hole a putt to save myself… Gah!

    Was supposed to go skiing today – but the mountains just copped an inch and a half of warm rain overnight. Hello spring! Goodbye ski season.

  2. kaimac September 3, 2006 at 7:35 am #

    If it’s not one thing it’s another, eh? Fix one problem only for another to rear its ugly head. The sporting equic of whac-a-mole….

    You could have gone ice-skiing. That might have been fun… did I tell you I put a pair of skis on when we went to whistler in Jan?

  3. Kieran September 4, 2006 at 4:50 am #

    You didn’t mention the skiing – one day I’ll get you on telemark gear…

  4. kaimac September 4, 2006 at 11:56 am #

    Did I ever send you the heli trip pics?

    FH010010

    Skiing pics here:

    FH010001
    FH010002

    Really enjoyed it, as it goes. Took to it like a duck to water… looking forward to getting back on ’em this winter.

Leave a Reply

