Myspace Is Rubbish

18 Jul

But it’s overtaken yahoo as the #1 site.

http://www.spin.com/features/news/2006/07/060713_myspace/

Bloody hell. Yahoo’s been #1 forever. And myspace is just so…. shit.

I am old.

9 Responses to “Myspace Is Rubbish”

  1. strugglingwriter July 20, 2006 at 12:23 pm #

    I totally agree about MySpace. Most of the pages I have seen there have horrible design and confusing navigation. I don’t understand the site’s popularity. I am old too 🙂

  2. marc sirkin July 20, 2006 at 4:18 pm #

    i completely disagree… don’t confuse design and navigation for configurability and self expression.

    no, i don’t think myspace is a good design, but what it excels at is connecting people and allowing folks a way to create (very easily) a page, blog and bulletins that feature photos, favorite music, books etc…

    i’m too but apparently get it!

  3. kaimac July 21, 2006 at 8:09 am #

    I understand all that. Why does it have to hurt my eyes so, though?

    And oh my ears, my ears.

  4. nick July 28, 2006 at 4:57 am #

    The designs that i thing your talking about are rubbish because every user sets up their own page layout. I totally agree that they are disgusting but it’s not really down to myspace, it’s the users with bad taste that make it hurt your eyes. Some of my friends pages are so hard to read I don’t even bother and just email them.

    What really does my head in about myspace is the fact that it’s got so popular and they haven’t even updated the servers to cope with the traffic, hence the crashing servers lately. I can’t even log in at the moment. So Tom you gobshite. Buy some decent servers!!!! lol

  5. Shane M August 4, 2006 at 7:48 am #

    Myspace is simply a waste of time for anyone who comes across it – internet trash for lowest forms of human trash. The site barely works and is managed in a very unprofessional manner. I seriously doubt this site in its current state has the ability to continue to tomorrow. 200,000 users per day is without doubt bogus.

  6. jo roach August 7, 2006 at 10:45 am #

    I despise MySpace. But then I have always been a fan of style over content.

  7. stefka02 August 7, 2006 at 3:15 pm #

    I agree with Shane M completely, except for I do think that the 200,000 users per day number is probably true, considering how many trashy people are out there.

  8. kaimac August 7, 2006 at 11:43 pm #

    Nick – it’s the nasty tiled backgrounds combined with the horrible audio that does it for me. Drives me rounf the bend.

    Shane – Mark is right above in that it does make it very easy for people to get together. I simply don’t understand why all their pages have to look like such ass though.

    Jo – I like both, personally.

    Steph – trashy is a bit harsh, eh 🙂

  9. Marc Sirkin August 8, 2006 at 4:56 am #

    check out these links… there is hope for myspace designs after all:

    http://myspace.com/d0401

    http://www.myspace.com/3gforfree (if you’ll excuse his music, it uses the same template code as the first link).

    marc

Leave a Reply

